Canada 150 – #14 – A Stormy Past on a Stormy Night.

Canada 150 - #14 – A Stormy Past on a Stormy Night.

An unanticipated result of my Canada 150 photo challenge is that I find myself digging into the past as I build context around some of my photos. Maybe that should have been predictable – I hadn’t really looked at this as a year-long history lesson but it seems to be heading that way.

So, also unpredictably, I now find myself reading about our stormy past on this stormy night – digging into Barry Moody’s book: The History of Annapolis Royal – Volume 2 – 1749-2005. I bought it in 2014 and it has been on my “should read” list ever since, but fiction always wins my vote in reading (my father was the historian in the family, not me!). Nevertheless, I picked it up this morning, opened the cover, and was immediately hooked. Our history is so rich and so interesting, and Barry’s way of writing makes it very readable as well.  Learning lots – no doubt some of this newfound knowledge will shine through as I background future Canada 150 photos.

Thanks Barry for presenting our past in such a good read! You’ll make a history student out of me yet…

TGS

 

Leave a Reply

